The ICWW mission is to unite the world in celebration and protection of the world’s historical, natural, and man-made wonders through leadership, education, and partnerships.


We envision a world unified together in the recognition, celebration and protection of the wonders of the world which showcase the amazing facets of nature and the marvelous achievements of mankind.


We believe that as people discover and learn more about the wonders of the world and the value these wonders represent to the global community people will be more inclined to take steps to protect them. We believe that a “wonder” recognition should not be something that is bought, sponsored, or swayed by financial means. Statistical, historical and traditional significance are imperative in determining a wonder winner.

Frequently Asked Questions

A world wonder is just that.  Some facet of nature or creation of mankind that leaves you speechless, standing in wonder.  

The first world wonder declaration was made by Philo of Byzantium in 225 BCE who identified the original Seven Wonders of the World.  These wonders included:  

  • Giza Pyramids
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • Gardens of Babylon
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • Temple of Artemis

There have been various takes of this “seven” classification with declarations such as the Seven Natural Wonders, the Seven Wonders of Mankind, and the 7 Modern Wonders of the World.

A campaign was launched in 2003 to establish a new 7 wonders, however, this violated various aspects of fairness nor were statistical and historical considerations accounted for in the voting.  This was purely a financial endeavor with wonder candidates having to be sponsored (financial fees) with continued increases of financial fees for inclusion. Wonder winners were awarded to those spending monies on advertising, social media and wonder sponsorship.  Not a true reflection of the world’s wonders.

The International Congress will be voting on and declaring additional wonders to the body of wonders every year.  Although the number may change, the inaugural class of wonders will include a class of 10 wonders.  The number of man-made and natural wonders included in each class may vary.

World Wonder status is bestowed upon candidates as determined by vote from the international congress.  A wonder cannot be purchased, sponsored or secured through financially driven advertising or social media campaigns.

Statistical and historical significance plays an important part in securing the “world wonder” designation between one wonder candidate and another.  Tallest, largest, smallest, fastest or any other statistical differentiation will be used to determine wonder status.  

Wonders are voted on by the International Congress which is comprised of professionals who value and take statistical and historical significance into consideration as they cast their votes for the annual additions to the wonders of the world library.

The public can nominate and vote on wonder candidates.  All nominations will be taken into consideration and public voting may be used to influence outcomes of closely voted on wonders by congress members.

The congress is comprised of a variety of professionals who recognize the importance of limiting personal bias and incorporating statistical and historical significance when casting their votes for each annual class of wonders.

The International Congress is comprised of individuals from the following professional fields:

  • Conservation Organizations (i.e. Conservation International, Nature Conservancy)
  • Geography Organizations (i.e. National Geographic, Royal Geographic Society)
  • Professors and Scientists
  • Museum Curators (i.e. Smithsonian, Louvre)
  • Travel Media (i.e. Frommers, Lonely Planet)
  • Travel Professionals (bloggers, writers, photographers)

If you would like to be consider as a member of the International Congress and serve as a World Wonder voting member, please submit a request here.